The Last King of Lydia

£9.9
FREE Shipping

The Last King of Lydia

The Last King of Lydia

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

He rules over an empire unrivaled in power and wealth and myths and rumours abound about the vast treasuries he has constructed in his palace.

Solon disagrees, stating that it can only be truly known that a man is happy by how he meet his death. Leach puts these words in the mouth of a 5th Century BC ruler, yet I’m not sure I’ve read a more apposite phrase to sum up what’s wrong with modern society. There are many plot twists and as a reader, I soon learned not to judge any of the characters in the story too soon, as my opinion of them would change many times over the course of the book.

As a book for young children I’d judge this book better, but I wouldn’t really recommend it to an audience older than that. Croesus is not a man one might aspire to be like or be with, but his journey through life is a deep, varied and intimate one which I really enjoyed. I will only discuss general aspects of the book rather than specific plot points and therefore consider it a spoiler-free review. Croesus is master of his own destiny and it is only his thoughtless behavior that will bring about his downfall. The dreamlike manner of narration of events fits the story of Croesus, a historical/mythological figure.

I didn’t feel like I was getting the full, rich story, but snatched glimpses of Croesus’ life, the bare bones of the plot needed to keep it moving on but no real fleshing out of the world. Croesus notes bitterly that the coinage bearing his family crest will last far longer than their kingdom. I had never heard of the Lydian Empire but this book brings it's last king to life and tells a sweeping story of the rise and fall of empires, as well as the intimate story of slaves and kings. What did anyone’s life matter, king or soldier or slave, if they could be replaced in moments and the world go on without them? This deeply wise novel of what it means to be human is perfect for readers of Mary Renault and David Malouf.He comes to realize that his power has limits because "It's a difficult thing, having one's happiness depend on those one cannot control" -- like his son's guaranteed well-being. The ancient world is so distant from us that at times it feels like fantasy - kings, gods, sacrifices, oracles, mountains of gold, lost cities, myth.

We follow Croesus through the great siege of Babylon, where he doesn’t really belong but it’s interesting to see anyway. The personalities of the two men couldn’t be more different and I think that is a compliment to the writing. The first excellent thing about this book is that even if, like me, you’re an ancient history dunderhead, Leach eases you through it effortlessly. He is depicted as a naive and inexperienced military strategist, which he certainly was not because he conquered Ionian cities (Ephesus, etc.

This book probably isn’t for everyone, but it has forced me to re-examine my own perception of life and the meaning *waves hand around randomly* of it all. I would also question whether there is such a close relationship between a king and a slave (Croesus and Isocrates, Cyrus and Croesus), it is just too good to be true. He does a great job of giving his characters distinct personalities and worldviews, including some historical and pseudohistorical figures (e.

There is something in the collective consciousness that enables these stories to resonate with each subsequent generation, allowing ancient wisdom to put out new roots in fresh soil. Readers who revel in the material details of period costume, weapons and mores may be disappointed in this fabulistic treatment of the ancient king whose name became synonymous with wealth.Through Croesus's life he sees what his failings as king had been and humbly learns from Isocrates, formerly his slave in Sardis, now also slave to Cyrus. Just look at this comparison of the teaching of Solon which saves Croesus’ life: In Herodotus it’s the gloomy “Count no man happy until he is dead.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop